Highlights from NJSGC’s 2024 Annual Affiliate Meeting

By Cassandra Schroeder on May 9, 2024


On Friday, April 26, 2024, the New Jersey Space Grant Consortium (NJSGC) hosted its Annual Affiliate Meeting at Georgian Court University in Lakewood, NJ. The event brought together approximately 20 affiliate representatives from academic institutions, museums, and other STEM organizations across the state, including three new planetarium affiliates. The meeting served as an inclusive platform to discuss current initiatives, explore collaborative opportunities, and gather feedback for improving NJSGC's programs.

NJSGC Director Haim Baruh lead the meeting and presented an overview of the NASA given grant, budget, and current programs, as well as prospective programs and collaborations. Attendees participated in insightful discussions about potential policy changes, target goals, expanding the New Jersey STEM community, and more. 

NJSGC is delighted by the active participation of its affiliates and hopes to continue inspiring more growth and engagement among the NJ Space Grant and STEM community. Proactive members of the network are the driving force that supports the next generation of STEM professionals and contributes to engagement in NASA's Mission Directorates.

New Jersey Space Grant Consortium extends its gratitude to the hosts at Georgian Court University, especially Professor Anne Tabor-Morris, for ensuring the event's success. NJSGC acknowledges and thanks Director Haim Baruh, Program Coordinator Joe Miles, Program Assistant Cassandra Schroeder, and graduate student Yanhao Liang for their diligent work to plan and run the event. NJSGC also gives a special thanks to all the affiliates in attendance for their valuable contributions and pursuit of advancing STEM education and engagement.

The Annual Affiliate Meeting reaffirmed the importance and power of collaboration within the New Jersey STEM community. New Jersey Space Grant Consortium is committed to continue supporting its affiliates, NASA Mission Directorates and goals, and students in STEM education.


Photo Caption:
From left: Ana Teodorescu (Brookdale CC), Anthony Lau (TCNJ), Nancy Cizin (Brookdale CC), Wil Van der Veen Raritan Valley CC), Joe Miles (Stevens, NJSGC), Cassandra Schroeder (Rutgers, NJSGC), Haim Baruh (Rutgers, NJSGC), Ed Bonder (Rutgers Newark), Mike Galvin (Princeton), Moi Chatterjee (NJ City Univ.), Cara Muscio (Ocean County College), Mike Ansonoff (Middlesex College), Katelyn Fatzler (Liberty Science Center), Sean O'Malley (Rutgers Camden), Anne Tabor-Morris (Georgian Court Univ). Photographed by Carlos Miranda (Paterson School System P-Tech Planetarium)